Kaabong Woman MP resigns

Kaabong Woman MP resigns

Rose Lily Akello during by-elections in 2017

Rose Lilly Akello, the Kaabong Woman member of parliament has decided to vacate her seat and instead represent the newly created Karenga district. Deputy speaker of parliament, Jacob Oulanyah disclosed this in his communication during plenary this afternoon.

“In exercise of its authority under the Constitution, the parliament of Uganda passed a resolution for creation of 24 new districts. Some of he created districts including Karenga district became operational effective 1st July 2019. Karenga district was curved out of Kabong,” said Oulanyah.

Adding that, “This is therefore to notify you that from henceforth, Hon. Akello Rose Lilly shall be reflected in this House as the Woman representative of Karenga district.”

Akello (NRM) became Kaabong Woman MP after winning a by-election in 2017. Oulanyah said the clerk to parliament; Jane Kibirige has already communicated the development to Electoral Commission.

“As required of the clerk to parliament through Article 81(2) of the Constitution, the clerk to parliament has written to the Electoral Commission informing the Commission of a vacant seat for the district of Kaabong occasioned by the choice made by the current Woman representative of Kaboong district.” Oulanyah said.

Following Oulanyah’s communication, the shadow Justice and Constitutional Affairs minister, Medard Lubega Sseggona questioned the continued creation of districts and their related astronomical administrative costs.

He gave notice to parliament on his intention to move a motion to freeze the creation of districts, saying their creation doesn’t come with corresponding support to different arms of government. This is not the first time a parliamentary seat is declared vacant after a member chooses to abandon their original constituency for a new one.

In August 2018, the speaker of parliament Rebecca Kadaga directed the clerk to parliament to declare Sheema North seat vacant after receiving a resignation letter from its representatives then, Dr Ellioda Tumwesigye.

Tumwesigye, who doubles as the Minister of Science, Technology and Innovations had contested and won the Sheema Municipality parliamentary seat. Sheema Municipality was created together with other municipalities in July 2016.

By Our Reporter 

About admin

Check Also


By Goodluck Musinguzi With 75% of voters being youthful in Uganda, National Resistance Movement Party …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.